The Gratitude Attitude

This week I had the funeral, and I also received word that my house is going to be re-possessed on 15th September. Also, I did not even get an interview for a job that I would have loved. What a crap week!

This week I was accepted as a blog writer for an addiction and recovery web-site, and I also had word that my house sale is going through soon, so I will be able to pay off my mortgage arrears and not have my house re-possessed. Plus, I was told by the manager and two colleagues that they really value my input on the team I have been doing supply work with. On top of this, I woke at eight this morning and was so joyful when I remembered that I used to have a horrible hangover every Saturday morning. I used to barely see the morning, in fact. I often did not wake until well after midday, feeling crap and remorseful, only to know that I would be doing it all again later the same evening. I was trapped, but no longer. This morning, I woke at eight and had breakfast and went to work for ten, no hangover, no remorse, I was ready to face the day.

I posted a few weeks ago that I wanted to remember and respect my friend by living life with more of a sense of wonder and joy. It is in remembering that there is so much to be grateful for, and appreciating the successes and the so many good things that life has to offer that I can live a life of gratitude. There will always be ups and downs, but for some reason we seem to focus on the bad more than the good. It is only by developing the habit of gratitude that we learn that there is always a different way to view our life and circumstances.

2 thoughts on “The Gratitude Attitude

  1. Andrea says:

    Hi,
    In my 3rd year of sobriety, I’m still thankful that I have a life and family to enjoy. Although to some people this seems a bit of a twee and Pollyanna attitude, it has worked for me! To find something to be grateful for, to be able to smile about it, this to me is the happiest way to live my life. This also helps me not to pick up that burden of guilt, with which I struggled for many years.
    These moments can be as simple as watching a butterfly with my daughter, or as huge as yours – just keep doing what you’re doing, and it does get easier and better everyday.

    Andrea

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

